Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Worth the risk?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dchavok, May 5, 2010.

1. dchavok

dchavok
    Expand Collapse
    Average Idiot

So I just got hit with a decision to make like a ton of bricks today.

I'm in a job that asks for a two year commitment (no written contracts). I just finished year one. The pay is okay, but its stability.

Well, something else came calling today. Better pay, better opportunity, better contacts, better references, networking out the ass, and a different spin on the job I currently do. Plus, this job is based upon what I studied/where I want to go in life.

Problem being, its only a three month gig. But the reference alone could get me a job once its up.

My decision is whether its worth the risk or not- give up a year of stable pay to chase a dream.

FOCUS: Life altering/career altering/relationship altering risks you decided to take. Did they work out? Maybe work out unexpectantly? Or are you sitting in your parents basement right now completely averse to taking any more risks?

ANTIFOCUS: Risks you didn't take. Did it work? Why didn't you go the route?

Personal Focus: Make my decision for me.

2. Kubla Kahn

Kubla Kahn
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded