Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Woodworking Thread

Discussion in 'Permanent Threads' started by $100T2, Jan 15, 2012.

1. $100T2

$100T2
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Since there are seem to be several members who are into woodworking on an amateur level and we have a resource like suapyg (that's mister Swahpig to you), I figured we could have a woodworking/carpentry thread on here for everyone to share their tips/tricks/blunders and ask any questions.

I'm a hobbyist more than anything, and I'm entirely self taught, which means I fuck up stuff and start over more than I would like.

Here's a couple things I've built. The first is a jelly cabinet I built for my wife for our first Valentine's together. It looked nice until she stained it pea-snot-green. She likes "primitive" style stuff.

The next is my computer desk.

My current project is my basement. I have a 24 x 36 foot basement that I am finishing. I will have an 11 x 16 workshop space, and the rest will be general use. I am putting in two bookcase "hidden doors" to work around awkward spaces where I have shit that can't be moved, i.e. the furnace, the electrical box, the oil tank, etc.

As far as tools go, I have the full Ryobi "plus" system for battery powered stuff, a Shopsmith Mark V (combo table saw, drill press, lathe, disc sander for those who haven't seen one before), a Shopsmith belt sander, Shopsmith bandsaw and all sorts of air powered stuff (every nail gun from brad to framing).

So, show us what ya got, show off your skills (or lack thereof) and ask away for advice/opinions. Don't be afraid of suapyg, he doesn't bite... hard.

Attached Files:

2. Nettdata

Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

Maybe we can get Norm to post here now that he's all retired and stuff.