Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The TiB Career Series: Ask A Chef.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Volo, Jun 27, 2010.

1. Volo

Volo
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Alright, so here's the score. I'm a professional chef of 12 years, with a good variety of restaurant experience. I've spent time as nearly every possible position in a restaurant in order to get a feel for the entire flow of a restaurant. One of the few positions I have not filled was that of a baker, or pastry chef.

There is another chef on board, MisterMiracle, who has agreed to be part of this as well. However, he made mention that he won't have much time to dedicate to it so answers might be few and far between.

So for the folks here on TiB who don't have friends that cook professionally to ask whatever questions they have about my field of expertise. And even if you think you've heard the score, there is infinite variety in the kitchen experience, which is much of the beauty in the culinary industry.

Let's hear'em!

2. Nettdata

Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

What's your take on Kitchen Confidential?

Who are your favorite celebrity chefs?

3. gtg2k

gtg2k
    Expand Collapse
    Experienced Idiot

What are the worst culinary crimes (slovenly habits, misrepresenting of items, etc.) you've ever seen?

4. ROC711

ROC711
    Expand Collapse
    Village Idiot

Kitchen tools have such a large price and quality range. What do you feel is the most important thing to really spend the extra money to get a good one? Knifes, pots, pans, cutting boards…

5. mad5427

mad5427
    Expand Collapse
    Disturbed