Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Tech Help Thread

Discussion in 'Technical Board' started by rei, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    25,609
    They've changed shit since Apache 1. I haven't.
     
  2. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    25,609
    I'm assuming you realize the "fuck you" is implied.
     
  3. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    379
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    I mean, I've got a old guy on my team that almost had a nervous breakdown over the fact that he has to rotate his password once a quarter, and I regularly have to solve his problems by pasting the top Google search result into a chat window for him, but his Apache .conf files work every time.

    Just sayin'.
     
  4. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    25,609
    I'll have you know my clients' systems work flawlessly, thankyouverymuch.
     
  5. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    379
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    It's always the shoemaker's children that go barefoot.
     
  6. wexton

    wexton
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,228
    Location:
    North Coast BC
    Well he said his clients, doesn't mean he was the one to do the job.
     
  7. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,852
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    25,609
    I have minions now. At work, anyway.
     
  8. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    480
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,356
    So, I found a song in a video that I'd like the internet to help me find more of. Problem is it's an instrumental, and I can't find credits anywhere. I'd like to either know the original artist, or similar tunes.

    Is there some site or AI that helps people like me manage audio deja vu?
     
  9. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    1,300
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,021
    Did you already try Google Assistant? It's worked well for me, but I haven't tried anything obscure.
     
  10. Juice

    Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid

    Reputation:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13,333
    Location:
    Boston
    Anyone else have a PS5? I’ve been having this issue where there are static lines and occasional RGB flares on the screen. I’ve switched HDMI cables, changed TVs, and reset the console to factory settings. Anyone else run into this issue?
     
  11. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    480
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,356
    Upgrading an old laptop....

    So I have a 17" touch screen dell with an i7, 12gb ram, a 256 ssd and a 2tb hdd. Sumbitch won't rub windows 11, and I would like it to be a bit speedier.

    I thought about buying new, but this one has so much storage because I used the cd drive, which nothing new has.

    I put $80 into a 4tb hdd. I want to upgrade the processor and maybe the videocard to make it faster. Especially when I have dual monitors.

    Any advice? Is this possible? Advisable?
     
  12. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    379
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    @downndirty

    Laptops are typically not upgradeable like that. The video cards and CPUs are almost never socketed because that requires more space and complexity. In addition, the thermal design and power distribution of a laptop is very specific, so it's usually not realistic to swap anything out unless it's lower power than what's in there.

    I don't know about your specific model, but I would be shocked if you could do a major CPU and video card swap.

    Laptops have such specific, non-modular designs that they're really not made for upgrades to core components.
     
  13. Juice

    Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid

    Reputation:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13,333
    Location:
    Boston
    Why does that not run Windows 11?
     
  14. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    379
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Microsoft decided that Windows 11 was only going to run officially on systems that have a TPM 2.0 chip in them, which allows for secure booting and secret management. This is not a performance-related requirement.
     
  15. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    480
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,356
    From what I can tell, I'm looking at spending well over $1500 for a system out of the box that has those specs, which...sigh. Fine. It's not like I pour my whole life through it, or anything.

    Also, I understand Windows 11 isn't exactly game-changing, and kind of buggy.
     
  16. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    379
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
  17. Juice

    Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid

    Reputation:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13,333
    Location:
    Boston
  18. AFHokie

    AFHokie
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    277
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    An suggestions for a Verizon FiOS compatible router? The router we currently use is from Verizon. It's set up on the middle floor, but we have weak spots in spots both upstairs and in the basement.
     
  19. Flat_Rate

    Flat_Rate
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,488
    Instead of buying a new router just get a mesh Wi-Fi system capable of handling your fiber speeds, I caught my set up on sale for Black Friday but there are a bunch of options. I wish I would have done it long ago, my coverage and speed has easily doubled since upgrading.

    This is what I bought, it’s still on sale - I’m only using two of the three nodes right now and it’s just amazing the difference.
    https://www.bestbuy.com/site/linksy...VFxPUAR261gFkEAQYASABEgI9FvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
     
  20. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    480
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,356
    I have a new Xbox, and a 14tb hard drive. I'd like to put some or all of my 6-8tb of movies and shows on there, and run it through Plex.

    How the fuck do I do that?