Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Tech Help Thread

Discussion in 'Technical Board' started by rei, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,003
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,887
    Was thinking about this... could also be a bad mouse contact in the scroll wheel. Try a different mouse, or just try unplugging your mouse completely when it start happening again.

    I'd also see if there's an app that will show you the input signals that your OS is getting from your mouse and keyboard... that will tell you a lot. If there's a signal coming in from either that is causing it to do the action that you're seeing on the screen, then it's a faulty keyboard or mouse. If there isn't, then it might be a faulty OS driver, system config, etc.
     
  2. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    I've tried a different mouse. Same.
    I pulled the battery out of the wireless mouse while it was scrolling and it continued to scroll.

    Me thinks it's time to take it to a professional
     
  3. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    981
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,409
    And this had no effect?
     
  4. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    Unfortunately not.
     
  5. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,003
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,887
    I'd try uninstalling the device drivers for your mouse/keyboard and then rebooting. It will then do a fresh install when your mouse/keyboard are detected.
     
  6. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    Negative.
     
  7. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,003
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,887
    Only one solution then... get a Mac.
     
  8. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

    Reputation:
    2,003
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,887
    or...

    get a Linux live CD/DVD/Thum-drive and boot from it... see if the same behavior is there... if so, then it's hardware, if not, then it's software.

    If it's software, I'd be tempted to nuke it from orbit and do a fresh install.
     
  9. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    Took my computer home over the weekend for work and realized I didn't have the ghost mouse scroll. Brought it back into work and still no self scrolling. It fixed itself! Praise baby Jesus it fixed itself!
     
  10. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    981
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,409
    And, the good news is, when issues fix themselves, they NEVER come back.
     
  11. wexton

    wexton
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    235
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,355
    Location:
    North Coast BC
    If I am watching a youtube video on my phone it will sometimes stutters, like play for .5s, freeze, and rinse and repeat. It will only happen on one certain channel, and once it starts it will not go away. I can go to my smart TV(with wireless connection) and use the youtube app and it will not happen, I can go to my computer and it will not happen. I can go back to my phone and it will stutter. It doesn't matter if it is through wifi or through my lte connection. My phone is a S7 with everything update, it has always happened and not with just any recent update. Any ideas why?
     
  12. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    981
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,409
    Is your phone being bullied by high school punks? I know that can cause a stutter.
     
  13. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    Hey all,

    Looking for a cordless office phone that has VM capabilities and to be able to handle four incoming lines. I won't need to transfer calls but if I'm out looking at a car and one of the four lines ring, I need to be able to answer it. Right now I'm either running back into the office or one of my techs answers it which means he's no longer working on a car. I'll never be too far from the handset base so distance isn't an issue. Hopefully something that won't break the bank.

    TIA
     
  14. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129
    And it's back. Fuck.
     
  15. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,556
    Anyone aware of a tablet larger than the Surface Pro that can run Windows?
    I want an MS tablet, and I might make do with Android if I can figure out how to run VLC on it.

    I use this at the gym to watch movies/youtube while I'm doing cardio and the sporadic backup to my laptop. That's it. I just want a bigger screen, since I am about to have to upgrade.
     
  16. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    213
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,977
    You're going to spend $1000 to have a media player/backup laptop? Madness.

    VLC works on Android. Buy a cheap Android tablet.

    When your laptop needs an upgrade, replace it with something like a Dell XPS 15 2-in-1.
     
  17. downndirty

    downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,556
    I don't quite know what the price range is, but it's not $1000.

    So, what's bigger than the Surface? I'm seeing a Galaxy View that's 18" (which is awesome!), but not a new model (the ones I'm seeing are like 64gb of storage and 2gb of RAM).

    I will die at the sword before I give up my 17" laptops. Yes, a 10 pound laptop is worth it. Pansies.
     
  18. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    213
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,977
    You mentioned a Surface Pro, which starts at $800 assuming you don't need a keyboard. The Surface Go is more budget friendly, but it's only 10". You just aren't going to find a lot of large tablets that run Windows in general, and >12" + <$1000 is not a common market.

    If you literally only use it to play movies, look for a used View on eBay, and buy a large thumbdrive to plug into it.
     
  19. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    981
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,409
    Not sure which thread for this . . .
    I used to use software called Street Atlas by DeLorme. (Final digital file was saved in .saf format.) Modern online mapping made this software obsolete. Garmin acquired DeLorme in 2016 and discontinued the software. (The last version was Street Atlas 2015.) I have file I created in 2010 that I need to open. But, I don't have the software anymore (and I'm not sure it would run properly on Windows 10). I have an old Windows XP computer I could run it on if I buy an old used copy off eBay or something. (though I'm not sure if I need a key code?)

    I tried to contact Garmin support, but they can't offer me support without a product serial number. Does anybody happen to know of any places I could download older software like that? My Google searches are coming up empty.
     
  20. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    213
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,977
    It's actually pretty likely that software published as late as 2015 (or even in 2010) will run just fine on Windows 10. Especially if you run it in compatibility mode (right click the executable > properties).

    You'll likely need a serial number as well as the software, which should come with a disc you buy on eBay. Hilariously, though, it looks like people are charging a small fortune for it on eBay.

    It looks like one of my private torrent trackers has it available. There are only two seeders so I'm guessing it may be very slow. I'll add it to my downloads, though, and we can give it a shot.