Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Tech Help Thread

Discussion in 'Technical Board' started by rei, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,721
    HP S2031 Monitor is starting to show tracers or shadows are whatever they're called. Is this typically a monitor issue, graphics card or the VGA cable? Is there anything to fix, or do I just throw it out and get a new one? I haven't moved or connected / reconnected wires, so I wouldn't suspect that. And, I don't have another monitor handy at the moment to see if it's the card. The desktop is only a few months old, but the monitor is about 5 years old.
     
  2. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    14,362
    Cables can work their way loose just due to thermal expansion and contraction... ensure that the cable ends are well seated. (There's a reason old VGA cables have the screws built into the connector).

    But I highly doubt that's the problem.

    "Tracers" sound like a shitty cable. You want to use a heavy (well-shielded), short cable if you can... or try and upgrade to an HDMI or DisplayPort or other digital cable.

    The desktop will have a ton of options other than VGA, does your monitor? If so, go to Monoprice and find yourself a new (non-VGA) cable for $10 and give it a shot.

    $0.02
     
  3. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,721
    Ok, well that's weird . . .

    The desktop has HDMI and VGA out. The monitor has VGA and DVI in. My old desktop had DVI out and I was using the DVI cable. When I got the new desktop, I kept the monitor, so I had to switch to a VGA cable. It is pretty beefy and has a ferrite core on each end. Just now, I went to check the connections to make sure I didn't have an HDMI input on the monitor. All I did was tip the monitor forward, and didn't actually change anything . . . problem solved. The tracers are gone.

    I meant to post this picture with the first post.
    upload_2017-12-20_10-25-57.png
     
  4. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,721
    This is it now.
    upload_2017-12-20_10-29-51.png

    So . . . thanks?
     
  5. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    14,362
    Probably a loose connection that got torqued the right way to re-connect.

    Made you look! (And fixed it in the process).

    You're welcome.
     
  6. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    14,362
    And this is your friend:

    https://www.monoprice.com/category?c_id=102&cp_id=10231&cs_id=1023104
     
  7. $100T2

    $100T2
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,906
    So I have a pretty crappy old tower left over from when I bought my wife a new computer for Christmas.

    I'd like to wipe it as clean as possible and use it ONLY for a MAME machine. I know when I set it to factory default it will clean up most of the stuff and be just a basic Windows 10 machine, but is there anything else I can do to it to make it as efficient as possible?

    ETA: I'm ordering this to use with the MAME software. I'm also going to build a sick cabinet with seats for it.

    https://shop.xgaming.com/products/x-arcade-tankstick-trackball-usb-included
     
    #1487 $100T2, Jan 7, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
  8. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    171
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    @$100T2

    I mean, if you want to use it only for MAME, I'd probably wipe it and install Linux. Stripping Windows of all its optional services really defeats the purpose of Windows.

    If you'd rather not do that, your next best option is to pick a debloat PowerShell script for Windows 10. There are lots of them, which do varying levels of uninstallation.

    All that said, a bone-stock install of Windows 10 with a few stupid things removed like Candy Crush is pretty efficient. Unless the tower is really old, it's probably not going to gain a whole lot by nitpicking the install to death. Linux will be the most efficient, but stock Windows is pretty good.
     
  9. $100T2

    $100T2
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,906
    Yeah it's not going online or anything. Is strictly going to turn into an arcade machine for shit like Galaga and Donkey Kong Jr.
     
  10. GTE

    GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    97
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    702
    Bought a new work PC a month ago and now the free McAfree anti-virus is expiring. I've used AVG in the past, are they still one of the better free anti-virus options?
    Thanks
     
  11. Rush-O-Matic

    Rush-O-Matic
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,721
    I don't know squat, but over in the PC thread, from my questions that Binary answered:

     
  12. Binary

    Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    171
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    @GTE Rush has my opinion above, but I did want to mention that AVG completely lost my trust when they started arbitrarily inserting signature advertisements into emails. A family member suddenly had "Use AVG!" messages in their emails and that's just totally unacceptable.

    Windows Defender is fine, free, lightweight, and behaves well.
     
  13. Nettdata

    Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

    Reputation:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    14,362
    Best form of anti-virus protection is a good backup. Worst case you just blow away everything and re-install from scratch, and recover your data from your backup.

    I tend to do that every year or two anyway, just to get rid of the bloat that seems to accumulate, and if your computer gets taken over and locked for ransom, fuck them, because you already have a backup.