Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Mushroom Growing Thread

Discussion in 'Permanent Threads' started by bewildered, Feb 6, 2023.

1. bewildered

bewildered
    Expand Collapse
    Deeply satisfied pooper

Not yet. I have a tub kit to grow in, I just have to buy a spore print to start some. Haven't bought the spores yet but I'm getting my supplies lined up.

Yeah it can be so hard to get all your shit together to do a proper grow. I'm so new at it that it can be tedious since I'm still learning, and I have to really plan to make sure I can dedicate the time to do it right. Have you grown in a spawn bag before?

2. Kubla Kahn

Kubla Kahn
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

I bought the unicorn bags and wood pellets just haven’t set aside the time to do the process of sterilizing and inoculating it. I bought one of those premade ones that had golden oysters. Already colonized you just cut it open and mist with water daily. It was fun and worked well. I hear lions mane is a pretty easy one once colonized.

Keeping the Petri dish agar clean when isolating is the hardest part so far. I let a few types of mushrooms I was trying to clone stall. 3/4 of the dishes get bacteria because my still airbox game is weak. The soufflé cups I got off amazon hold up in a pressure canner well but the snap on lids are a bitch to get open in a tote with hand hole cut outs. End up contaminating them just popping them open. Next time I’ll find a screw top variety. Getting a rice grain biopsy slice is another stumbling block for me.

Still easier than growing fucking tomatoes.

3. bewildered

bewildered
    Expand Collapse
    Deeply satisfied pooper