Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Inflation/Recession Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GTE, May 6, 2022.

1. GTE

GTE
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

I was going to try and write some eloquent post but due to being brain dead after a long week and just generally being a shitty writer, I'll just ask.

If there is a recession or inflation continues on a path not seen in 40 years; how does it affect you? Of course it affects all our wallets as we fill our tanks or buy food, but what about big ticket items; Job/Income? Retirement? Kids college fund? etc

My job is recession resistant but not recession proof. If there is a hard hit and the car is undrivable, then people don't really have a choice to have their car fixed. When times are good and Little Mrs. Soccer Mom gets bumped in her brand new Tahoe, she's probably going to get it fixed. But if Little Mrs. Soccer Mom gets bumped in her brand new Tahoe as her adjustable rate mortgage is going up, she may take that insurance money and put it in her bank account which means I have one less car in the shop. Multiply that by a few people and suddenly, I'm down 15% in sales a month.

2. Juice

Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid

If you have a reasonably diversified portfolio, your retirement accounts shouldn't be terribly impacted in the longer term. Overall, the value of domestic companies was at 1.5x GDP around the last recession. Now its at 2.5x. People are going to have a difficult time getting credit if a recession actually occurs.

3. Flat_Rate

Flat_Rate
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded