Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Home Brew Thread

Discussion in 'Permanent Threads' started by Nettdata, Apr 11, 2011.

1. Nettdata

Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

I recently had a PM asking about advice on how to make your own beer.

I don't home brew, personally, so I have no idea.

Thought it might make a good thread, though.

FOCUS: Discuss home brewing. Do you? What's your setup? Recipes to share?

ALT-FOCUS: Get your questions about home brewing answered here.

2. Frank

Frank
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

I'm honestly shocked Nett hasn't worked in beer brewing for at least two years and won several awards for signature beer recipes.

I'm far from an expert, but I've done a couple kits in my day and was looking to transition to making my own recipes or at the very least measuring out the grains myself instead of having it done for me. I know there are some hardcore brewers on here, anyone have a good step by step recipe I could start with just to get used to not going with a kit?

If it matters I've only brewed stouts and porters so far, I don't know why that would matter but I figured I'd throw that out there in case brewing lighter beers had processes that are much different.

3. Binary

Binary
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Honestly, just do a google search for "<type of beer> recipe" and start poking through results. Or, you can do a search for "<specific beer> clone recipe" if you have a specific beer that you like and want to try to make.

I recently brewed this and found it to be fantastic:
    <a class="postlink" href="http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/janets-brown-ale-partial-grain-93993/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/janets- ... ain-93993/</a>