Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

The Automotive Thread

Discussion in 'Permanent Threads' started by Backroom, Oct 19, 2009.

1. Backroom

Backroom
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Post your automotive questions here.

I'm no good at starting topics, but I know nothing about cars and have questions every once in a while that a google search can't necessarily find. Maybe we can start one in the permanent section.

2. Supertramp

Supertramp
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

I'm not good with cars at all so I have a question:

I have a cushy job with good pay and am looking to purchase my first car. My father recommends I lease a brand new car, he's usually smart but I feel that it's kinda stupid to lease a new car unless it's a luxury car (which mine won't be). Any thoughts?

Also, I think I'm settled on the Volkswagon Golf. It's in my price range* and it's "cooler" than Ford Focus/Honda Fit/Toyota whatever. Any thoughts on that?

*I'll go up to 21,000$ Canadian with freight and options included, before taxes.

3. rei

rei
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Without knowing much about the mechanics, I do know the Golf is incredibly cheap to insure in Canada (vs anything Honda or Toyota make)

4. Vanilla

Vanilla
    Expand Collapse
    Disturbed