Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Somebody get my punching bag...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by D26, Sep 14, 2010.

1. D26

D26
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Just posted this rant.

I am incredibly stressed right now. I don't know how to deal with it. When I was younger, I worked as a manager at McDonalds, and I was an angry dude. It was a stressful job full of customers screaming at me and asshole teenagers ignoring anything I told them to do. To relieve stress, I'd scream, curse, and go in the freezer and punch boxes of frozen french fries and the like.

I've since mellowed out significantly. I really, really hated the person that I was at the time. Now, I play video games and do anything I can to attempt to relax. Sometimes I channel that stress energy into being extra productive (lots of homework, scrubbing the house), but more often than not I ignore it, and just let the stress and anxiety fester. I'm fairly sure this is going to result in a stroke by the time I am 35.

So, help me out:

FOCUS: How do you deal with stress?
    ALTERNATE FOCUS: How did you used to deal with stress? Why did it change?

2. DrFrylock

DrFrylock
    Expand Collapse
    The White

When I am really stressed out, my entire body/brain tries to shut down and go to sleep, I guess figuring that I'll wait out the trouble? I dunno. How do you all deal with stress?

3. LessTalk MoreStab

LessTalk MoreStab
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Beer, lots of beer.

4. scootah

scootah
    Expand Collapse
    New mod

You are not so smart talks about cathartic venting and why it's not as awesome as it seems. Fantstic blog.