Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Social Media? I'm too busy living my life.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Senna Vs. Prost, Jan 23, 2010.

1. Senna Vs. Prost

Senna Vs. Prost
    Expand Collapse
    Experienced Idiot

I'm in my final semester of my final year of J-School, and only now have I got a Professor who actually understands the internet, uses social media and doesn't roll their eyes at the mention of online journalism.

This is fantastic for us grads who are going to be coming into a terrible job market, with our profession about to be sunk into oblivion. The downside to this is that like so many tech/social media enthusiasts, he does not understand something that, as a borderline geek, I have always been actuely aware of; most people do not give a shit about most computer/tech matters beyond their Facebook profile.

Maybe 3 people out of my class of 30 used Twitter before we were instructed to sign up. I was the only one who used delicious, and one of two people who used RSS. I find that reading too many tech blogs and spending too much time online corrals you into a bubble, making you think that this stuff is going to solve all the social ills of the world. But then you get outside and realize that most people are too busy living their offline lives to care.

FOCUS: What social media tools have you adopted. What do you find adds the most value in your life. What do you hate and absolutely refuse to use? What have you tried to use and given up on quickly?

Anti-Focus: How do people like Gary Vaynerchuck, Ben Casnocha etc build such huge followings? How does one really understand the "black art" of social media.

For me, personally: