Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Second to None

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hooker, Aug 11, 2011.

1. hooker

hooker
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

We all do enough griping about terrible companies with terrible customer service, but what about the ones that get it right?

Being in Marketing, I'm really anal about "brand guidelines" and the "customer experience." I have plenty of "good customer experience" stories, but there are two that most recently stick out in my mind.

Steam Whistle Brewing Company

About a year ago, I fell in love with this beer. Their Marketing plan is awesome. Their slogan is, "Do one thing really, really well."

A few months after falling in love with the beer, I picked up at 12 pack at the Beer Store and thought for a hot second that it felt a little light. I let the thought pass, purchased the suitcase, and headed home to put the beer into the beer fridge. I pulled out one of the bottles and after realizing that it was completely empty, also noticed it was missing it's entire bottom. I looked at the box, puzzled that I wouldn't have noticed the damage - but the fucked up part was that the box was fine, the rest of the beer was fine, and the missing bottom wasn't even in the bottom of the 12 pack. Obviously it happened in production somewhere.

I sent an e-mail to the Production Manager saying something like, "Hey, I love your beer, but Lot #XX might have been a bad batch because <insert above explanation here>."

The next day I had a response that said something like, "Hey, we're glad you love our beer. Thanks for taking the time to e-mail us. Can you give me a few more details printed on the outside of the box? And can you also give me your address so we can send you vouchers for some free beer."