Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

It aint all it's cracked up to be.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Juice, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Juice

Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid

I was an investment banking analyst for about a year before I became an financial auditor. Everyone likes to think that being in IB means you get to call the shots like Gordon Gekko in Wall Street (Which, I might add, made zero sense.) Here's what it's like in a nutshell:

1. You work about 80-100 hours a week, maybe 60 on a slower week. Some nights you don't leave the office until after 2 AM.

2. All the analysts and associates really do is play around with Excel spreadsheets and edit PowerPoint presentations. Endlessly. Some times the monotony is broken up when you're asked to go do other paper pushing, menial tasks like host a conference call with a client or something if a VP is unavailable.

3. People immediately think you're a zillionaire when you tell them what you do. It would be nice, but it's far from the truth. The money isn't bad though; your base salary starts at around 60-80k and you can make around 125-140k with bonuses and if the market is booming. But when you have zero social life because of work, who gives a shit?

4. It's pretty hard to "get rich." Just like any other company in any other industry, only the guys at the top make millions. Even then, only about 1% of analysts ever make partner. The washout rate and turnover is extremely high. You really have to like financial services to stay in it, or at least get incredibly lucky.

5. There's a good amount of ivy leaguers in the industry, but not as many as people think. But it means jack shit if you went to Harvard or a state school when you're doing the same work.