Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

How I Buy

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by downndirty, Sep 12, 2017.

1. downndirty

downndirty
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

My girlfriend was shopping for a particular pair of shoes. She looked on Amazon, and balked at the price. I showed her Google Shopping, and she found what she wanted. Who doesn't use Google shopping?

I work in sales, and I'm always curious what people search for, how they buy what influences their decision. One of the CTO's I sold to said he always delays a business purchase for no less than 6 weeks to see how his team will work without the intended purchase. That behavior shocked me a bit, but it makes sense.

I just bought a used Prius for around $5k. My giant SUV was leaking oil, and I was sick of waiting on the next death rattle to be it's last. I never wanted a Prius specifically, but my next gig might involve a commute in excess of 45 minutes one-way, and it's pointless hauling a gym bag and a laptop in a vehicle designed to transport 6 humans and a half ton of luggage. I didn't talk to the sales guy (UGH) until I had looked up all the cons around owning one of the little fuckers, and I was confident I could re-sell it for at least $1500 more than I put into it.

Focus: How do you shop? Where do you ask advice on your purchases? What are your buying no-no's?

2. Juice

Juice
    Expand Collapse
    Moderately Gender Fluid