Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Elder Scrolls - worth going back to play past games?

Discussion in 'Pop Culture Board' started by TanishaEileen, Nov 25, 2011.

1. TanishaEileen

TanishaEileen
    Expand Collapse
    Should still be lurking

I started playing Elder Scrolls when Oblivion was released and since the release of Skyrim I have probably spent the equivalent of 2 days straight playing, in the last 2 weeks. Still, i'm not very far in and that is why I really love the game! The full on control over what I do and when.

Now, I have 2 questions about this game. Does anyone know if the order I complete my missions effect the gameplay? For example if I followed through on becoming an imperial legion, would that effect my missions as a stormcloak?

Second, is it worth me to go back and attempt to play morrowind or the other originals of this game? I get immersed in the storyline and since playing Skyrim I realize they do try to connect all the games.

I could just read through some reviews of previous games. The thing that concerns me most is the gameplay will feel archaic and I won't enjoy it. When it comes to Mass Effect 1 versus Mass Effect 2 I feel that way- yet even now, I still go back to Mass Effect and replay because I love the storyline and the game.

Suggestions? Also know any tricks or cheats (preferably for money!! haha) I could use? I still have yet to update oblivion because the update "fixes" the money cheat I use but I have updated Skyrim.

2. rei

rei
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

Morrowind is a very good title, certainly worth playing.
    Daggerfall feels archaic but is still a good game for what it is, though buggy as hell
    Arena I'd argue is unplayable from a more modern standpoint.