Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Databases and interfacing with them - DB Help Thread

Discussion in 'Technical Board' started by rei, Aug 16, 2011.

1. rei

rei
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

I'm honestly not sure how used this would be - also it's really designed for the tech section, but this thread is meant as sort of both a "help me with this" and a general question and answer about database tech.

2. Nettdata

Nettdata
    Expand Collapse
    Mr. Toast

We'll see if this flies.

3. scootah

scootah
    Expand Collapse
    New mod

I'm an admin/ops guy - although I know my way around MSSQL pretty good, and can manage postgresql/mysql pretty comfortably. One of the servers I'm running at the moment hosts an Oracle instance which does some data processing - basically data comes in as part of a workflow, a bunch of transforms happen and data gets spat out at the other end. There's no need for any roll back, undo/redo or any kind of backup - the use of Oracle at all for the functions in question is something on the list for our developers to ditch and rebuild in a processing solution in C - but for the time being, we need to support Oracle.