Adult Content Warning

This community may contain adult content that is not suitable for minors. By closing this dialog box or continuing to navigate this site, you certify that you are 18 years of age and consent to view adult content.

Put the gun down, it's not that kinda huntin'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Frank, May 16, 2011.

1. Frank

Frank
    Expand Collapse
    Emotionally Jaded

It's mid May and the academic life for many young people is now finished, the job hunt will no doubt prove to be a bitter cold whore for many in this economy, but I'm sure some of the more ambitious, amicable, well skilled and (most importantly) well connected grads will find a nice opportunity for themselves.

Focus: What was the job market like for your career path when you graduated and how did you fit into it?

I graduated with a math degree which doesn't exactly lend itself to specific careers (unless of course you have a masters or PHD) and through a happy combination of laziness and entitlement I figured I could just shoot an unpolished resume off and people would be banging on my door with job offers.

As you can probably guess nothing happened and I was getting pretty nervous that January was looming and I'd be off my parents' insurance. The only job I was able to get was a job in a call center through a person I knew, that was not what I had in mind when my professors told me the possibilities were endless.

Luckily I've since moved on and the skills I developed there are highly sought out in my current profession since most actuaries can't explain their work in English. And I was technically an analyst when I left... so if a future potential employer takes that to mean I was in the actuarial program as soon as I got there, well who am I to correct them?

Alt-Focus: Give advice to those about to graduate. Or if you are about to graduate ask for advice.